Washington,

DC's pre-War Apartments

Washington,

DC's pre-War Apartments

Welcome to

The Woodward Condominium

2311 Connecticut Ave. NW

Washington, DC 

The location of the Woodward Condominium is arguably one of the most picturesque in DC for it sits on Connecticut Ave. where the Taft Bridge crosses the Rock Creek Park and has commanding views in all directions. The Woodward's spacious rooftop pavilion offers panoramic views of the Rock Creek gorge, the grand Woodley Park hotels, the National Cathedral, the Islamic Mosque and the gracefully curving intersection of Connecticut and Kalorama. These are some of the best views in DC and never fail to thrill even the most jaded Washingtonian!

The Woodward was built in 1909 by Walter Woodward who was better known as the cofounder of the Woodward and Lothrop Department Store - the venerable and long time Washington emporium. The architects were Harding and Upman who described the building's ornate facade as "Spanish Colonial". The construction material is Brick and iron.

The Woodward originally opened its doors as a hotel serving short and long term tenents (a common practice at the time) and was later converted to rental apartments. There were originally 45 apartments; the three apartments over the lobby were duplexes. In 1970, the building was restored and  renovated into 53 apartments by J.R. Bindeman and his son David and in 1973 they converted the apartments to condominium ownership.The apartments themselves are very spacious and have very large windows making them extremely bright and sunny.  There is a wide range in the apartment sizes from a mere 450 square feet to almost 2000 square feet. The Woodward is a Designated Historic Landmark.


WC & AN Miller REALTORS
A Long & Foster Company
Bethesda All Points Office
4701 Sangamore Rd.
Bethesda, MD 20816
Office Phone: 301-229-4000
Cell/Direct: 202-320-6077
E-mail: Jim@TheSweeneyTeam.com
Website: www.TheSweeneyTeam.com

 James C. Sweeney Associate-Broker